Fridge issue

Water Heaters, Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Refrigerators, Ranges
Rostam

Fridge issue

Post by Rostam »

Last year, after our last camping trip, I forgot to turn off the fridge. It was running on electric for a couple of days, while the fridge/freezer doors were left open. I went to get something from inside the trailer and noticed it.

Last week, we were preparing for our first camping trip -- It got cancelled due to rain :( I turned on the fridge on electric and it did not cool at all. I ran it on propane and it started to cool down (though much slower than when on electric). After some troubleshooting, I noticed that the fridge trips the circuit breaker. I studied how the fridge operates (ours is 3 way) and thought that the electric heating element might be the problem. I found the specs and it the resistance should be 52 ohms. I used a multi-meter and it measured at 38 ohms. So, I suspect the heating element is dead, and the lower resistance causes the amperage to increase and trip the breaker. I contacted Dometic and unfortunately they do not manufacture the heating element and know of no substitute.

So, unfortunately, I think I need to replace the fridge. I do not want to get an 2 or 3 way fridge as 1) they are very expensive, 2) I've heard of Dometic/Norcold fridges being defective and catching fire (apparently, there is a class action lawsuit).

I'd like to know your opinion on using a residential fridge. How can you keep the fridge doors shut when towing? Do you use a custom base to secure the fridge in place? Does a residential fridge need some form of venting? Are there any safety concerns that I should be aware of?

I know @KYAvion uses one with a converter. I appreciate info on the converter and how its hooked up.

Many thanks!
1978 Avion 26-H
2021 Toyota Tundra SR5
KYAvion
Site Admin

Re: Fridge issue

Post by KYAvion »